SPE Automotive Div. “Top Five Most Innovative Hall of Fame Award Winners” Announced

The Automotive Division of the Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE®), Troy, Michigan, announced the “Top Five Most Innovative Hall of Fame Award Winners” since the category was established in 1983 for its 50th annual awards gala. The HOF committee selected the top five leading innovations from the previous 37 winners from 1983 to 2019.

The criteria for a HOF award were that the nomination be in use for at least 15 years and be game-changing; very successful worldwide; innovative in materials, process and application; and still being used. The HOF committee consists of engineers, managers, executives, technical experts, SPE Fellows, SPE Honored Service Members and automotive industry technical experts having served at least 30 plus years in the industry.

The award winners were HDPE (High-Density Polyethelene) Fuel Tank awarded to Volkswagon AG in 2000; Front & Rear TPO (Thermoplastic Polyolefin) Bumper Fascias awarded to Generals Motors Co. in 2010; PVB (Polyvinyl Butyral) Windshield Interlayer awarded to Ford Motor Co. in 1988; PA (Nylon) Thermoplastic Intake Manifold awarded to Porsche AG in 2005 and PC (Polycarbonate) Headlamp Assembly awarded to Ford Motor Co. in 2007.

For more information, visit www.speautomotive.com.